Tel: (866) 306-0246

My Cart:

0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.

Types Of Portland Cement

Though all Portland cement is basically the same, eight types of cement are manufactured to meet different physical and chemical requirements for specific applications:

  • Type I is a general purpose Portland cement suitable for most uses.
  • Type II is used for structures in water or soil containing moderate amounts of sulfate, or when heat build-up is a concern.
  • Type III cement provides high strength at an early state, usually in a week or less.
  • Type IV moderates heat generated by hydration that is used for massive concrete structures such as dams.
  • Type V cement resists chemical attack by soil and water high in sulfates.
  • Types IA, IIA and IIIA are cements used to make air-entrained concrete. They have the same properties as types I, II, and III, except that they have small quantities of air-entrained materials combined with them.

Looking to seal your Portland Cement? Learn more about our recommended concrete sealer.

Leave a Reply

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.